Tags

, , , , , ,

Him we preach, warning every man and teaching every man in all wisdom, that we may present every man perfect in Christ Jesus.  To this end I also labor, striving according to His working which works in me mightily.  (Colossians 1:28-29)

Seriously?  This passage is in the Bible?  The Bible that churches everywhere claim to be their guide for living?  I am dumbfounded.  This looks contrary to what I see from most church ministries I have encountered.

Him we preach.  Verse 27 tells us it is Christ in us is the Him which Paul preaches.  Paul preaches the Christ in the sanctification mode rather than the salvation mode, at least for this exhortation.  Paul taught on sanctification?  He sure did.  It is time churches start to think likewise.

Warning every man.  Really?  Paul warned every man he ministered too?  Paul?  The Guy in the Bible?  He sure did.  I cannot remember the last time I was warned by anybody in the pulpit.  I do when I pick up a work from a Christian author that I like that is long dead and in the presence of Jesus.  Warning is such a strong word…I think we should probably take this seriously…don’t you think?

Teaching every man in all wisdom.  This still sounds serious to me; that maybe Paul is talking about something important.  If Paul is taking something seriously should not the Church as well?  But serious about what?

That we may present every man perfect (teleios) in Christ Jesus.  Really?  That’s it?  If Paul thinks it is important to minister to every man with the objective of presenting them perfect in Christ Jesus should not the Church as well?  Just wondering; it seems logical to me?  How about you?  Do you think it is logical?  Then why do churches neglect such a task that Paul considered important enough to use serious language to decide?  Just wondering out loud?  Does anybody have an answer?  Many churches official stance is that making disciples is making converts.  Does that seem right to you in reading this passage before us in plain English?

To this end I also labor, striving.  Paul seemed to be putting a lot of effort behind this task.  Shouldn’t the church do the same?  Just asking a simple question from a simple-minded person.  It sounds important to the great Apostle Paul.  It was the passion that drove Paul.  Why is it not the passion that drives churches?  Just wondering.  Simple guy with simple thoughts.

According to His working which works in me mightily.  Paul said it is by the power of Christ that this is accomplished.  Do we have the same access to the power of Christ that Paul had?  I cannot find any passage in the Bible that will tell me otherwise.

It sounds as if the task of Paul is important.  I pray that it becomes important to the church while there is still time to present every man perfect in Christ Jesus.

