Tags

, ,

Then the word of the LORD came to me, saying, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I have appointed you a prophet to the nations.”  Then I said, “Alas, Lord GOD!  Behold, I do not know how to speak, because I am a youth.  (NASB)

The call of the prophet Jeremiah is rich in understanding both the call of God and also His will for all Believers.  This call also shows us Jeremiah was a man poor in spirit when he took it all in as to what the Lord had to say in His commission. 

I formed you in the womb.   God has His hands on us before conception and forms us for His use.  We were made for His pleasure and to walk in fellowship with Him.  He is our Creator who delights in us because we were made in His image.  

For You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb.  I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; wonderful are your works, and my soul knows it very well.  My frame was not hidden from You, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth.  (Psalm 139:13-15, NASB) 

Let those who want my vindication shout for joy and be glad; let them continually say, “The LORD be exalted, He takes pleasure in His servant’s well-being.”  (Psalm 35:27, HCSB, emphasis added) 

For the LORD takes pleasure in His people; He will beautify the humble with salvation and adorn the wretched with victory.  (Psalm 149:4, Amplified)

So God created man in His own image; He created him in the image of God; He created them male and female.  (Genesis 1:27, HCSB) 

I knew you.  Before conception; before the foundations of the world were laid; God had a plan for Jeremiah’s life.  The same holds true to the man who is poor in spirit.

I have put My words in your mouth, and covered you in the shadow of My hand, in order to plant the heavens, to found the earth, and to say to Zion, “You are My people.”  (Isaiah 51:16, HCSB)

Then the King will say to those at His right hand, “Come, you blessed of My Father [you favored of God and appointed to eternal salvation], inherit (receive as your own) the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.”  (Matthew 25:34, Amplified)

Praise the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavens.  For He chose us in Him, before the foundation of the world, to be holy and blameless in His sight.  In love.  (Ephesians 1:3-4, HCSB) 

I consecrated you.  Jeremiah was set apart for God’s work from the beginning of time; and the Lord has a plan for our lives too if we are poor in spirit.

For we are God’s [own] handiwork (His workmanship), recreated in Christ Jesus, [born anew] that we may do those good works which God predestined (planned beforehand) for us [taking paths which He prepared ahead of time], that we should walk in them [living the good life which He prearranged and made ready for us to live].  (Ephesians 2:10, Amplified) 

I have appointed you a prophet to the nations.  Our church needs more Jeremiahs who sense their God-given ordination in life and who pursue it with their whole being. What is the calling given to you before you were created?  Are you pursuing it? 

Alas, Lord GOD!  Jeremiah learns that God formed him, knew him, and sanctified him, and that he should go forth in his calling ordained by God.  The following of that call from the beginning came with a struggle.  He was broken by the presence of the Lord and all that he could say at first was Ah, Lord God!  In that moment, Jeremiah became poor in spirit as he recognized a painful and humble awareness of his condition in relation to the awesomeness and power of God in all His splendor and holiness.

Behold, I do not know how to speak, because I am a youth.  Jeremiah sees himself as he really is: as inadequate for the task of serving the Lord of glory.  But God does what He needs to do to work through His servants: He encourages His servants and empowers them through the Holy Spirit to fulfill the call:

But the LORD said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am a youth,’ because everywhere I send you, you shall go, and all that I command you, you shall speak.  Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you to deliver you,” declares the LORD.  Then the LORD stretched out His hand and touched my mouth, and the LORD said to me, “Behold, I have put My words in your mouth.  See, I have appointed you this day over the nations and over the kingdoms, to pluck up and to break down, to destroy and to overthrow, to build and to plant.  (Jeremiah 1:7-10, NASB)

What is the calling given to you before you were created?  Are you pursuing it?

