Tags

, , ,

Isaiah was a man who exhibited being poor in spirit as told to us in Isaiah 6:5-8,

Then I said, “Woe is me, for I am ruined!  Because I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.”  Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a burning coal in his hand, which he had taken from the altar with tongs.  He touched my mouth with it and said, “Behold, this has touched your lips; and your iniquity is taken away and your sin is forgiven.”  Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying: “Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?”  Then I said, “Here am I.  Send me!”  (NASB)

Woe is me, for I am ruined!  Because I am a man of unclean lips.  The word used here for woe in the Hebrew describes a passionate cry of grief or despair.  Isaiah saw his condition and he was deeply concerned with it.  The word for ruined in the Hebrew means ceased, caused to cease, silent, and destroyed.  Isaiah knew he would be consumed because he was not holy and he was in the presence of a holy God.  Isaiah stated that his lips were unclean (similar to Moses in Exodus 6:12, 30).  Was not he unclean in every respect to his person?  The answer is of course he was, but what he was gifted at was a Prophet of the Most High.  His gifting, his abilities, what he possessed, what he held as valuable in his service to God, was unclean.  There is nothing we can bring to the table that is any good in and of itself.  This is being poor in spirit; that is where Isaiah was at because that was his character.

For my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.  When Isaiah saw the LORD of hosts he not only saw God as He is, but he saw himself as he truly was.  In order for you and I to get to the place where we are poor in spirit we need to see God as He truly is.  We have mentioned prayer and study of His Word before as ways to see God and ourselves as we are – it needs to be mentioned again – it is vital for character development.

Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a burning coal in his hand, which he had taken from the altar with tongs.  He touched my mouth with it, and said, “Behold, this has touched your lips; and your iniquity is taken away and your sin is forgiven.”  In order for Isaiah to be poor in spirit, to stand in the presence of God, and to be usable to the Lord, Isaiah needed to be made clean from his sin.  God graciously provided for Isaiah’s cleansing, which is available to all His people who come to Him in humility (much like Jeremiah in Jeremiah 1:6-9).

Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?”  Then I said, “Here am I.  Send me!”  When Isaiah’s sin was dealt with and when he was poor in spirit Isaiah was available for the call.  A simple lesson for us all is to be used of God we need to deal with our sin and to take on the character of being poor in spirit.  The call of discipleship is for all who will respond.  Listen man who is poor in spirit, and be used to accomplish great things in the God’s kingdom.

It should be your heart’s desire to be used of God.  You can learn from Isaiah and see that he became poor in spirit by perspective and dealing with sin.  Do the same today.  See God as He is and yourself as you are.  Go to the Lord in prayer and deal with sin; spend time in His presence in all His glory.  Get focused today.  Heed the call to discipleship and becoming poor in spirit.

