Tags

, , ,

Show me Your ways, O LORD; teach me Your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; on You I wait all the day. (Psalm 25:4-5, NKJV, emphasis added)

God can direct our work in truth and we learn this through waiting on Him with hope.

For I, the LORD, love justice; I hate robbery for burnt offering; I will direct their work in truth, and will make with them an everlasting covenant. (Isaiah 61:8, NKJV)

Paul tells us in Ephesians 2:10, “For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.” The Lord wants to direct these works in truth. Jesus told us that we were capable of doing greater works than He did because we had the Holy Spirit indwelling us, directing us, in John 14:12 (NKJV), “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to my Father.” When we wait on God we learn the truth and our works, which really are His works prepared by Him, are so directed by the Holy Spirit. We all ask, “What do you want me to do?” The loving Father tells us He will direct us. Do not fret about it. Spend the time at God’s feet and He will direct your work in truth. The LORD loves justice and we have seen earlier that justice and truth go together. In God’s economy of working in our lives he is driven by His truth to work everything out to His glory in justice and truth. You and I are part of the plan – He will direct your work in truth for His sake. The LORD, YAHWEH, is the covenant keeping name of God and He wants to make a covenant with you through His works prepared for you – He will direct your work in truth because he has covenanted with you.

The Lord lives in truth and we know this through waiting on Him with great hope.

And you shall swear, “The LORD lives,” in truth, in judgment, and in righteousness; the nations shall bless themselves in Him, and in Him they shall glory. (Jeremiah 4:2, NKJV)

When we proclaim with our mouths and with our lives (you are salt and light) that The LORD lives we do so in truth, in judgment, and in righteousness. Why is this so? Because we are God’s workmanship created in His image. The person who is developing Christian character through waiting on the Lord is being created into the image of God. We have studied that the LORD is truth, is just, and is righteous – these are attributes of the Almighty. So it only follows that if we are God’s workmanship that we can swear that the LORD lives, and do so in truth.

Ask the Lord to direct you in the works He has prepared for you to do in waiting prayer – for as long as it takes.

