Tags

Then Moses said to the LORD, “See, You say to me, ‘Bring up this people!’ But You Yourself have not let me know whom You will send with me. Moreover, You have said, ‘I have known you by name, and you have also found favor in My sight.’ Now therefore, I pray You, if I have found favor in Your sight, let me know Your ways that I may know You, so that I may find favor in Your sight. Consider too, that this nation is Your people.”

And He said, “My presence shall go with you, and I will give you rest.”

Then he said to Him, “If Your presence does not go with us, do not lead us up from here. For how then can it be known that I have found favor in Your sight, I and Your people? Is it not by Your going with us, so that we, I and Your people, may be distinguished from all the other people who are upon the face of the earth?”

The LORD said to Moses, “I will also do this thing of which you have spoken; for you have found favor in My sight and I have known you by name.”

Then Moses said, “I pray You, show me Your glory!” (Exodus 33:12-18, NASB)

I see many books on the Christian market that deal with experiencing God. This prayer of Moses, a person poor in spirit, is given as a perfect example of experiencing God. There are many lessons to be learned in this prayer and we will only cover a few of them. It needs to be stated that Moses was poor in spirit. The other noteworthy point to see is that this prayer is a dialogue – true intimacy, or experience, takes place in fellowship with the Lord.

I have known you by name. This is a statement of intimacy. In our day and time if you know somebody by name you have a relationship of some sort with the person you are talking about. But this statement is much more than that. To know somebody by name is to know their character because a name describes what the person is in the culture of Moses’ time. God knows people who are poor in spirit because their character is like God’s, and true fellowship happens when two share a common likeness, goals, and character. We should desire to be like Moses and have the Lord know us by name.

You have also found favor (grace) in My sight. It is very important that grace, among other things, is vital for both salvation and to live the day to day life before God. By grace we come into His Presence because we are still in our sinful bodies. Seek the grace of the Lord to allow you to behold His Presence.

Let me know Your ways. The request of the person who is poor in spirit is to know God’s way because the way of man is futile and is not what the Lord desires. As slaves of the Master, the poor in spirit seeks the command to follow in all eagerness to please Him.

My presence shall go with you. The Creator God answers the person who is poor in spirit with His Presence. This is experiencing the Lord in true fellowship. He knows all about us and we get to know Him in all His glory. Prayers of the person of character are the prayers that seek the heart of God in all His fullness. The Lord’s desire is to be with His special creation in sweet fellowship. Oh how He loves to reveal Himself to man.

I will give you rest. There is no work when God is carrying the load. His yoke is easy and His burden is light (Matthew 11:30). When you are wandering in the wilderness for so long it is good to know that the Lord wants to give us rest, and that rest is in Him.

If Your presence does not go with us. Moses’ heart is seen here. Moses desires nothing but to be led by the Presence of the living God. Moses wants both the direction of the Lord and the fellowship with Him. The person poor in spirit seeks direction and fellowship.

I will also do that thing you have spoken. God once again answers Moses’ prayer. The prayer of the poor in spirit avails much (James 5:16).

I pray You, show me Your glory! The cry of Moses is for as full of revelation of who the Lord is – His glory manifesting before Moses’ very eyes. Moses wanted a deeper relationship with God, more intimate than he had to this point in his journey. The true desire of the person poor in spirit is never be satisfied with a shallow relationship with his Maker.

Determine to seek after God’s Presence and to see His glory by becoming poor in spirit; this would include praying with the express desire to take part in a dialogue with your Master. No longer will you view prayer as bringing a shopping list to God, rather use prayer to seek His face…not His hands…

