Tags

Show me Your ways, O LORD; teach me Your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; on You I wait all the day.  (Psalm 25:4-5, NKJV, emphasis added) 

God’s truth can be proclaimed and we do so through a life that is waiting on the Lord.

I have proclaimed the good news of righteousness in the great assembly; indeed, I do not restrain my lips, O LORD, You Yourself know.  I have not hidden Your righteousness within my heart; I have declared Your faithfulness and Your salvation; I have not concealed Your lovingkindness and Your truth from the great assembly.  (Psalms 40:9-10, NKJV, emphasis added)

David once again shows how he became a man of character.  This psalm tells how David’s faith can persevere through the most difficult of times.  The Psalmist of Israel proclaims the LORD God and His attributes even in the storms of life.  O that we can do the same.  I often crack under the strains of my trials, but David was a man of character, and that character caused him to proclaim certain things to the assembly he faced.  I desire to be like David in this regard.

I have proclaimed the good news of righteousness.  David was not shy at all in what he proclaimed. Proclaim in the Hebrew a verb meaning to bring news or to bear tidings. The general idea of this word is that of a messenger announcing a message. David had a message, and that message was the good news of righteousness. We learn from all the psalms that David wrote that he was less than perfect and needed God’s righteousness in order to be counted among his people. That the Lord has declared you and I righteous is good news and we should, like David, proclaim it to the people. A man of character knows he has no righteousness of his own; righteous is only imparted upon us by God. This indeed is good news.

I do not restrain my lips.  David held nothing back when it came to his declaration of the LORD and his God’s great attributes.  David’s lips were open.  If there was any fear in David it does not come out in this passage of Scripture.  He was open to others on what he believed and lived.  Do not be shy about talking about your Lord because He has done great things for you.

I have not hidden Your righteousness in my heart.  Things that are hidden cannot be seen.  David did not hide his righteousness (which was God’s righteousness in him), but it was out in the open displayed in his life for others to be seen.  Jesus said, “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your father in heaven (Matthew 5:14-16, NKJV).”You are light so shine. 

I have declared Your faithfulness and your salvation.  What else did David declare?  He declared God’s faithfulness.  The Lord is true to His word and He is truth as we have been discussing.  In a world where people are unfaithful to what they say the message of somebody being 100% truthful is something that the world needs to hear about.   The salvation of God that has given to you is something to be declared.  The Lord has saved us from so much, including the fires of hell, that we should declare His salvation.  

I have not concealed Your lovingkindness and Your salvation.  David did not conceal that the LORD is lovingkindness, and extended lovingkindness to him.  And once again David, who was saved from many troubles on the battlefield, continues to not hide the fact that God was working in his life.

Because the person who is developing Christian character walks in the truth of God he can do nothing less than declaring the truth about the Lord and keeps nothing hidden from a world in need.  Test your life against this statement.  Do you want to pass or fail?

