Show me Your ways, O LORD; teach me Your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; on You I wait all the day.  (Psalm 25:4-5, NKJV, emphasis added)

He is the God of truth and we can experience His blessings by waiting on Him with hope.

Into Your hand I commit my spirit; You have redeemed me, O LORD God of truth.  (Psalm 31:5, NKJV, emphasis added)

So that he who blesses himself in the earth shall bless himself in the God of truth; and he who swears in the earth shall swear by the God of truth; because the former troubles are forgotten, and because they are hidden from My eyes.  (Isaiah 65:16, NKJV, emphasis added)

Into your hand I commit my spirit.  David displays trust in the God of truth by committing his spirit into the hands of the Lord. This attitude of David proved his character as he showed strong confidence in God in the midst of the adversity he was facing as seen in Psalm 35. God’s hands are sure and safe. The act of committing is seen in its Hebrew use of this word for the context: to appoint over or to commit to, that is, to cause people to attend to something placed under their care. David submitted to the care of His Lord and Master. God was in charge and was the Caregiver. The benefit of being a slave is that the Master takes care of all your needs. 

You have redeemed me.  The God of truth is our Redeemer and that should shape our character to walk in His truth and to wait upon Him.  He redeemed us through purchasing us from the slave auction – He was the highest bidder (1 Corinthians 6:20 and 7:23).  We no longer serve Satan and his minions.  We serve our Master the Redeemer.  Recognize that fact as you wait on the Lord God with great hope.

Isaiah 65 teaches that the remnant of God will find blessing because the former troubles are forgotten, and because they are hidden from My eyes.  What a wonderful blessing that the God of truth has wiped the slate clean and our sins are no longer remembered.  With this recognition the blessings of God can be poured out on the person who walks in His truth.  Waiting is remembering what the Lord has done.  Wait with hope and remember.

Prayerfully meditate on the following passages that reflect thoughts of the Redeemer and wait upon God until you submit to Him as Lord and Master of your life:

Job 19:25-27

Psalm 19:14

Psalm 34:17-22

Psalm 78:35

Psalm 103:1-5

Proverbs 23:10-12

Isaiah 44:6-8

Isaiah 44:24-27

Isaiah 47:4

Isaiah 48:17

Isaiah 49:7

Isaiah 54:5

Jeremiah 50:34

