Tags

Show me Your ways, O LORD; teach me Your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; on You I wait all the day.  (Psalm 25:4-5, NKJV, emphasis added)

We can walk in God’s truth as we wait upon Him (continued). 

Vindicate me, O LORD, for I have walked in my integrity.  I have also trusted in the LORD; I shall not slip.  Examine me, O LORD, and prove me; try my mind and my heart.  For your lovingkindness is before my eyes, and I have walked in your truth.  (Psalm 26:1-3, NKJV, emphasis added)

For you are great, and do wondrous things; You alone are God.  Teach me Your way, O Lord; I will walk in Your truth; unite my heart to fear Your name.  (Psalm 86:10-11, NKJV, emphasis added) 

For your lovingkindness is before my eyes.  David’s focus was on the lovingkindness of the LORD and that helped him to become a man of character who could walk in God’s truth.  What is set before your eyes is your prime objective at the moment.  We distract the work of the Lord in our lives by putting garbage in our line of sight.  David had a single minded focus – it was on the lovingkindness of God.  The person who walks in the truth of God has his eyes on Jesus and His lovingkindness.

For you are great, and do wondrous things.  Understanding who God is and remembering all that He has done in the history of the world and in your life personally should lead you to walk in His truth.  To wait upon the Lord and read of what He has done; to recall what He has done for you.  These are disciplines the person of character has made part of his life.  Many like to do a daily reading of the Psalms to have the wondrous things of God before them each and every day. 

You alone are God.  David recognized that there was only one God in the whole universe and it made him a person of character who walked in His truth.  The one true God is who we serve.  There is no other.  Not self.  Not things.  Not position.  Nothing but the Lord God Almighty is God.

Teach me Your way, O Lord.  David’s heart desire was for the Lord God Himself to teach him His way.  David did not assume to know the Lord’s will, but he asked to be taught it.  That should be our prayer – teach me.

Unite my heart to fear Your name.  The person of character does not want a divided heart.  We can only serve one Master and it should be the Lord God.  A heart in reverence to God is a heart that can walk in the truth of His ways day in and day out.  This is real character and David had it.

What area(s) do you need the Holy Spirit to work on to become a person of character?  Ask God to do the work and submit to His working today.

