Tags

Show me Your ways, O LORD; teach me Your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; on You I wait all the day.  (Psalm 25:4-5, NKJV, emphasis added)

We can walk in God’s truth as we wait upon Him. 

Vindicate me, O LORD, for I have walked in my integrity.  I have also trusted in the LORD; I shall not slip.  Examine me, O LORD, and prove me; try my mind and my heart.  For your lovingkindness is before my eyes, and I have walked in your truth.  (Psalm 26:1-3, NKJV, emphasis added)

For you are great, and do wondrous things; You alone are God.  Teach me Your way, O Lord; I will walk in Your truth; unite my heart to fear Your name.  (Psalm 86:10-11, NKJV, emphasis added)

David gives great insight into the character of the person who waits on God so he can walk in the truth of the All-Knowing One in these two passages of Scripture.  What made David a man of character? 

I have walked in my integrity.  The Hebrew for the verb walk has the meaning to go, to come. This word carries with it the basic idea of movement. Integrity is a noun meaning completeness in the Hebrew. David was a man of movement, there was spiritual growth in his life. The process of sanctification is a process in the life of the disciple. To wait on God with hope and to walk in His truth takes growth that is leading towards completeness of our character. Keep going forward with integrity! 

I have also trusted in the LORD; I shall not slip. To wait upon God is to place your trust in Him as your source to all truth.  David placed his trust in the LORD and because of that trust he could not slip.  Place your trust in God and wait upon Him with great hope.

Examine me, O LORD, and prove me. When we wait upon God we open ourselves to examination. Examine in the Hebrewis a verb meaning to try, to prove. This verb can refer to any type of test. The word for prove is verb in Hebrew meaning to test, to try, to prove.   This term often refers to God testing the faith and faithfulness of human beings. The Holy Spirit will lead us to truth of things in our lives that needs change.  The Spirit will often use adversity to prove or test our faith.  This kind of faith is built through waiting on God and thus building Christian character.

Try my mind and my heartHere is a similar idea expressed by David. Try in the Hebrew is a verb meaning to refine, to test. This word describes the purifying process of a refiner, who heats metal, takes away the dross, and is left with a pure substance. David is praying for God to put him through the fire and remove the ungodliness in his character. Do we have the faith and courage to ask the Lord to put us through testing like this? This is where character is easily formed as the impurities in our lives are removed and what remains is God’s masterpiece: the true you, as you were meant to be.

Are you ready to be like David and pray, “Try my mind and my heart”? If you are serious do so today and allow the Holy Spirit through whatever it takes to purify your life for His service and His perfect will to be done in your life.

