Tags

“The soul in which the wondrous combination of perfect passivity (myself) with the highest activity (God’s work) is completely realized, has the deepest experience of what the Christian life is.”  Andrew Murray

Andrew Murray calls this life “cooperation in subordination.”  We can trust God to do His work, He cannot fail Himself.  We are the problem in the way of God working out His will.  We need to be out of the way, not interfering, and being still before Him.  Murray calls this state the “stillness of the soul.”

I suggest the following Scriptures to meditate upon:  

In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and confidence shall be your strength.  (Isaiah 30:15)

Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for Him; do not fret because of him who prospers in his way.  (Psalm 37:7)

Truly my soul silently waits for God; from Him comes my salvation.  (Psalm 62:1)

My soul, wait silently for God alone, for my expectation is from Him.  (Psalm 62:5)

