Tags

There are many moving parts involved when seeking the will of God for your life, and one of those will be discussed today – asking.  It is ok to ask; it really is.  I remember a turn in my life when I was in my prior job and the opportunity arose which led to my present job.  I saw the opportunity and I asked the Lord for His direction and hand in the opportunity.  It was amazing how quickly and how much I had peace in getting through the hiring process.  Not all opportunities are God’s will, and I understand that very well.  But if I did not ask I would have never received. 

Always remember opportunities are just that – an opportunity for God to open the door to pursuing or an opportunity for God to close the door.  I am grateful that my God wants His will to be done in my life and His will is what is best for me. Waiting is about opportunities.  The opportunity to draw closer to the Lord.  The opportunity to develop character.  The opportunity to step up your devotional life.  And the opportunity to be in the center of the will of the Almighty God.  I love opportunities; do you?

Show me Your ways, O LORD; teach me Your paths.  Lead me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; on You I wait all the day.  (Psalm 25:4-5, NKJV, emphasis added) 

We can ask for the path and by waiting on God with hope receive your path to follow. 

Thus says the LORD: Stand in the ways and see, and ask for the old paths, where the good way is, then you will find rest for your souls.  (Jeremiah 6:16, NKJV)

We need to desire His path for every step we take; both to stand and to ask.  We need to wait on the Lord and seek His path for us.   The person who is waiting on God knows that his dependence is upon God and cannot do anything including finding the right path through reasoning or force a way to the right path in his own strength.  The Scripture cannot be any more direct: ask for the path where the good way of the Lord is.   When we pray it is all right to ask the Lord for specifics.  The Word is very clear that we can ask God and when seeking a path according to His will the Lord will give us what we desire because it will be what He desires for us.  Consider the following Scriptures on asking (note that they are all conditional promises, meaning that we must fulfill a certain criteria – asking – in order for the promise of God to be accomplished):

Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do, because I go to the Father.  And whatever you ask in My name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If you ask anything in My name, I will do it. (John 14:12-14, NKJV, emphasis added)

And in that day you will ask me nothing.  Most assuredly, I say to you, whatever you ask the Father in My name He will give you. Until now you have asked nothing in My name. Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full.  (John 16:23-24, 26, NKJV emphasis added. 

The first condition in asking and receiving is to ask in Jesus’ name.  Most people think if they end a prayer with “in Jesus’ name” their prayer will be answered.  That is not what it means to ask something in His name.  When you ask for something in somebody’s name you are asking under the authority of someone else.  When asking in somebody’s name you are acting as an agent for that person.  This agency has certain limits and bounds.  Purchases, for instance, were made for the benefit of the master, not the agent.  If this person is of good character and keeps his word you are granted the request because the giver knows that the person under whose authority it is requested is going to honor any debt.  The honor is in the name.  In Jesus’ day a servant would purchase for his master and the name of the master was all that was needed to make the purchase.  Women did the same when they purchased in the name of their husband.  The application to us is that as agents of the Christ we can ask for anything that benefits the Master in which we have been given the authority to purchase and it will be given to us.  Not for our glory, but for His glory.    

Commit yourself to seeking God’s will as an agent of His Name.  Pray that your motive is always to do the Master’s will and He will give you what you need and direct you down His paths.  Wait on God with great hope.

