Tags

I found the Biblical concept of waiting intriguing because I have a hard time practicing it.  This is one of the many reasons I started to study Biblical waiting.  Peace and waiting naturally go together, there is no getting around that.  As we wait we learn to recognize who God is and what He wants to do.  This should give us peace because the One who is in control wants control of us!  Let Him have it and wait on Him.  The Source of peace wants us to have peace, and this is real peace, the peace of God, the Lover of my soul.

We all say we want peace and yet we befriend the world and have no peace.  Peace is not the byproduct of the world, but a gift purchased for you at Calvary.  True lasting peace comes only from the Father through Christ.  The path of peace comes to those who wait on the Lord, the Prince of Peace.  This is what I am seeking.  Come join me.  Today will be a lesson on how to wait, and to wait in peace.

Show me Your ways, O LORD; teach me Your paths.  Lead me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; on You I wait all the day.  (Psalm 25:4-5, NKJV, emphasis added)

His path is peace and those who walk on it wait on God with great hope in their hearts.

Her (Wisdom as personified in Christ) ways are ways of pleasantness, and all her paths are peace. (Proverbs 3:17, NKJV) 

Her paths are peace.  The world eagerly seeks peace, but it can only be found in God; there is no other place to find peace.  The Hebrew word for peace means safe, well, happy, friendly, welfare, health, and prosperity.  God desires for us to be safe, happy, and to become spiritually prosperous, and He lovingly gives us the path that leads to accomplish this.  Peace is always the result of what God accomplishes, and because of this, the person who is waiting on God with great hope recognizes it. 

Spend time (this is how to practice waiting; do not rush) prayerfully reading some of the Scriptures on peace and notice that the source of peace is always the Lord and is never achieved by self-effort: there is no struggle or hurrying in peace.

In peace I will both lie down and sleep, for You alone, O LORD, make me to dwell in safety.  (Psalm 4:8, NASB)

The LORD will give strength to His people; the LORD will bless His people with peace.  (Psalm 29:11, NASB)

He will redeem my soul in peace from the battle which is against me.  (Psalm 55:18, NASB)

In his days may the righteous flourish, and abundance of peace till the moon is no more.  (Psalm 72:7, NASB)

The steadfast of mind You will keep in perfect peace, because he trusts in You.  (Isaiah 26:3, NASB)

And the work of righteousness will be peace, and the service of righteousness, quietness and confidence forever.  (Isaiah 32:17, NASB)

Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you.  Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.  (John 14:27, NASB)

These things I have spoken to you, so that in Me you may have peace.  In the world you have tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world.  (John 16:33, NASB)

Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.  (Romans 5:1, NASB)

And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  (Philippians 4:7, NASB)

Grace and peace be multiplied to you in the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord.  (2 Peter 1:2, NASB)

