Tags

What do you do when you have been praying for God’s will to be done in your life and seemingly the world falls apart around you?  Is God not listening?  What good can come of this?  I have done so much to see it all be torn to pieces now!  It is often frustrating when we see circumstances apparently working against you.  One of the biggest lessons to learn while waiting is to…wait.  We cannot judge where God is taking us by circumstances.  Which is bigger: our circumstances or the God who made us and holds us and knows what is best for us?  If God is in control He will do things His way and we need to hold on to Him and let Him work.  Our only command is to acknowledge Him (admit He is in control and do not take control of any situation by working in your own power to correct the situation) and hold on!

Show me Your ways, O LORD; teach me Your paths.  Lead me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; on You I wait all the day.  (Psalm 25:4-5, NKJV, emphasis added)

God will direct your paths and He does so after we wait upon Him with hope.

In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.  (Proverbs 3:6, NKJV)

Direct as used here in the Hebrew means to make straight, right, and have success.  That is what we desire!  We want to know that where we are headed is where God desires for us to be.  We can be assured of this according to this passage because it plainly states that He shall direct our paths.   The only thing we need to do is acknowledge that it is the Lord and not ourselves – to give credit to Whom credit is due.  For the person who waits on God with hope in his heart this is an easy task because he has left self behind and clings to the loving Father who directs paths.  If we wait upon the Lord and acknowledge Him we will be directed – it is certain.

I believe there are no accidents with God directing your paths.  He has a plan.  He wants us to experience Him and He often uses circumstances to bring this about in our lives.  The day after I wrote the paragraph above in my notes something serious happened in my life concerning my son who had been sick for a week-and-a half.  As I studied this Scripture the Holy Spirit was preparing me for a purpose only God in His wisdom knew.  I was soon to be tested in what I was learning.  Did I believe that if I acknowledge Him He would direct my paths?  It is one thing to proclaim it and quite another to live it. 

This was the second time that our son was close to death and both situations had purposes that were different, but God has clearly had some (we may never know all) of these purposes displayed in these circumstances.  It had been over two weeks (before I continued in my notes on this topic) since the Saturday that was the most dramatic day in our family’s life since our son’s first brush with death.  Our son Alex had been diagnosed with bronchitis and the flu.  He had a bad cough, diarrhea, was not eating, was gaining weight, could not lie down without struggling breathing, and his biggest complaint was lower back pain.  That Saturday morning his feet, ankles, and lower legs swelled up.  When taken to Urgent Care once again, we were told this was something serious and he was rushed to the hospital.  At the hospital tests confirmed that he was in heart failure as the pericardium around his heart was taking on fluid and his lungs were collapsing as they too were taking on fluid.  He was sent to one of the best hospitals in the nation – Loma Linda Children’s Hospital.  At the hospital a procedure was done to drain the fluid from his heart.  He was in the hospital four days and lost some 40 pounds during this ordeal.

How did I acknowledge God at this time?  As soon as it was known that this was serious it was time to get the word out to praying believers.  I learned that it only took a small handful to get the word out.  I am so thankful that my friends and family acknowledged the Lord and know where we all should be focusing on – going before the One in control.  Satan was the root of the sickness and the solution was the loving Father who desired to be the Healer.  I was not surprised by the peace of God during this; I had experienced that some thirteen years earlier.  I was surprised by how my son was calm.  My acknowledging God in my life caused Alex to trust in the Lord.  I was not surprised by the support my family received.  But I was surprised at how the seriousness of his condition changed.  Many lessons were learned, but the main point for me is that God is still on the throne and always will be; and if we acknowledge Him in all our ways, He will direct our paths.

If you have not memorized Proverbs 3:6 do so today.  It will be your source of comfort in times of trouble.  Acknowledge the One in control of your paths.  Wait on God with hope.

