Tags

, , ,

Why a blog?  This question has been one of many questions I have had bouncing around my mind for the last few months.  I read a few blogs on a regular basis and have enjoyed the insights, the inspiration, the exchange of ideas, and the bond of fellowship with people all over the world; but me a blogger?  Do I have what it takes to blog in an environment where people can see and sometimes criticize my thoughts?  To make this leap is both a challenge and a risk for me.  But after much prayer and counsel I am entering the blogger zone.

Why a blog?  The reason I started to think about blogging is that I will have a book being published in January (Poor in Spirit in Scripture), and another book in the spring (Waiting, Ways, Paths, and Truth).  In fact, I have a whole series of books outlined on the topic of Christian Character in Scripture.  Is the blog promoting the books or are the books promoting the blog?  Serious questions with no answers yet.  I admit from the start that I ask a lot of questions.  That is one thing I like about successful blogs: you can ask questions and people try to give you answers.  Discussion is one of the primary goals of this blog and I welcome it; so do not be afraid to bring it!  I understand you too are taking a risk, but growth always comes with a risk.

Why a blog?  I believe the Word of God calls us to discipleship and discipleship can take many forms.  I consider some of the blogs I visit have played a part in my continual discipleship.  I am involved in multiple weekly Bible studies, which are a part of discipleship.  I also engage my close friends and family in discussion of the God and His Word; this is also part of discipleship to me and want this blog to be a place to further the discussion and the application of discipleship.

Why a blog?  I have been primarily writing about discipleship the last few years with the focus on a part of the fruit of discipleship: Christian character.  I want this blog to primarily focus on the process of creating Christian character, what Christian character looks like, and what Scripture says about Christian character.  Character has been described as who you are when nobody is looking.  I pray that like me you want to have Christ’s Character.  I would like this blog to make an impact in both yours and my character development.

Why a blog?  I have been intrigued by an article written by one of my heroes, A.W. Tozer, in which he uses Hosea 10:12 as a challenge to live a life that is more than ordinary.  But to live an extraordinary life it comes with change, hard choices, and pain.  To break up the fallow ground of your life is hard work, but the Holy Spirit wants to work in you to produce Christian character.  By His hand He plows the fallowed ground of a submitted life:

Sow for yourselves righteousness; reap in mercy; break up your fallow ground, for it is time to seek the LORD, till He comes and rains righteousness on you.  (Hosea 10:12, NKJV)

Breaking up my fallow ground includes starting this blog, but is only a part in the process by which God has chosen to change me from a weed infested field into a crop which produces fruit for the kingdom.  Fear of the unknown is common to man, and I am intimately acquainted with it.  But in Christ there is no fear of the unknown because He is Truth and there is no unknown to be afraid of.  In order to live out the Character of Christ in Christ the fallow ground needs to be broken up by the hand of the Plow, the hand of the Almighty.  Changes will be made by the Plow: the old needs to be replaced with the new; the barren ground will produce fruit.  Using the imagery of Hosea 10:12 my life is a field which needs to be plowed under, turned upside down, and prepared for seeding.  You cannot bear fruit without first breaking up the fallow ground by His hand upon the Plow.  The seed cannot be thrown on soil unprepared.

I know nobody, no matter how godly they are, who does not need to work on character development.  We all need our fallow ground, that part of our lives still in need of producing the fruit of Christian character, broken.  This is where we begin the discussion: with self-examination.  What has the Holy Spirit shown you that needs to be worked on in your development?  Are you ready to allow the Spirit to take the plow to your life?  It will most likely not be a pleasant experience.

But after the plow comes the seed.  To the seed is applied water and nutrients from the broken soil.  Add to that sunlight and the tender care of the Spirit.  And one day, fruit is produced.  And one day you are closer to being transformed from a barren field to a beautiful vineyard.  Christian character is the goal; but it begins with the Plow applied to your life.

